Wednesday……chocolate update

It’s been a month since my self imposed chocolate ban and I have to say that it has actually been a lot easier than I thought it would be to forgoe my daily chocolatey treat. I also have to report that I feel absolutely no different now than I did a month ago. Which is more encouraging than disappointing.

My experiment if you can call it that was to ascertain whether or not eating raw chocolate on a near daily basis – actually who am I kidding – on a daily basis was having a detrimental effect on my health.

There is much debate within the raw food community as to the pros and cons of eating raw cacao. There are two very distinct camps and they don’t mix or compromise one inch in their views on the subject. It is difficult then to know who is right and who is wrong. I like to think that my body knows what is best for me and so hence the experiment to see if I did indeed feel any benefits laying of my chocolate fix for a month. But no. Zippo. None. Which means……..

Yep, you guessed it I’m back on the raw cacao and just in time for Easter. Lucky for me that our local health food shop stocks a particular variety of raw chocolate bar that I love. Now where are my car keys…………………….

Food today will be:-

Green morning smoothie – the usual.

Large salad with lettuce, cucumber, red onion, tomatoe, avocado, carrot, beetroot, olives, sprouts and coconut oil dressing – will pop it in the dehydrator for a bit as it has turned cold again. Winter is not ready to give up on us yet????

2 apples

2 clemetines

1/2 pineapple

1 chocolate bar

Exercise today will be:-

Not sure. Have a chesty cough at the moment and had to skip yoga class (as I was still asleep) so may try some self practice later and see how I go.

Thanks for reading……….

4 thoughts on “Wednesday……chocolate update

  1. That’s great news that you can fully enjoy Easter lol. Apart from not affecting your health – very very good news and I plan to use it to justify my daily dark choc fix – did you lose any weight as a result of not eating chocolate ? Not that you need to, but obviously on most ‘diets’ chocolate is one of the first things that has to go.

    • No real weight loss, its always pretty steady nowadays. Dark chocolate is good and has a lot of benefits and I think if you have always eaten it and do so in moderation then its ok and good for you. And the main ingredient in dark chocolate is chocolate – whereas with the ‘milk’ chocolates on the market it is all sugar which is where the problem is. Happy Easter honey, enjoy your daily fix.

  2. Hi Helen, I lost track of your blog for awhile but just got caught up! I enjoyed it. You’re a good storyteller. :-)

Leave a Reply

