At last a post about raw food…..

This blog started its life as a place for me to document my journey into raw foods. It has kind of broadened its horizon’s since then and become a general blog about my day-to-day life and just lately our road trip through Europe.

However, my raw food journey continues and I thought today might be a good opportunity to bring you up to speed with where I am at.

Living on the road means that most areas of our life have become simpler – out of necessity as well as desire. Raw food is as simple as it gets right – well yes for the most part that’s true, but some raw food uncooking does take a lot of time and effort to create. I no longer have the luxury of having a big prep area for my creating and so simple is very definitely the flavour of the day for me now.

I did bring my dehydrator with me but I haven’t used it yet as making foods that take 24 hours plus to dehydrate doesn’t seem to fall into the category of ‘simple’ anymore. I’m sure I will use it for special occasions but for me the onus is now on creating quick, simple and delicious raw meals. (Did I mention simple!)

So, today I spent some time doing just that. I experimented with making two versions of ‘protein power balls’ – sound intriguing don’t they?? I made both a sweet and a savoury version as follows:-

The sweet version was ‘Blueberry and Carob’ and for these I simply mixed the following ingredients in a food processor until I had a dough like mixture.

  • Pecan nuts
  • Dates
  • Carob Powder
  • Fresh Blueberries
  • Pinch of Himalayan rock salt

Once mixed I made small balls which I then rolled in either shredded coconut or a finely milled mix of sunflower, pumpkin and flaxseed. Yummy.

The savoury version was ‘Garlic and Spirulina and the ingredients were:-

  • Walnuts
  • Sun dried tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • Garlic
  • Spirulina powder
  • Himalayan rock salt

Same process to make and I also rolled these in the fine seed mix.

The third and final thing I made today was ‘Coconut and Goji Berry Muesli’. The ingredients for this were:-

  • Pecans and hazelnuts
  • Shredded coconut
  • Oat Grouts
  • Goji Berries
  • Pinch of Himalayan rock salt.

I whizzed all the ingredients together in the food processor until broken down but not finely ground. Then I simply stored in an airtight mason jar. I will either have this for breakfast with fresh fruit and a nut milk or use as a crumble topping.

So, there you have three quick and easy recipes that meet my criteria for simplicity and more importantly taste. Pictures of the power balls below……

Blueberry and Carob Power Balls

Garlic and Spirulina Power Balls

Now I know that both versions look pretty much the same but there was a difference in colour. The garlic and Spirulina balls actually came out a sort of ‘Shrek’ green colour – emmmmm……nice!!! (actually they taste delicious)

Post note: Hubby seems very taken with the sweet version of the power balls and has already chomped his way through four of them. At this rate they won’t be lasting very long…….

 

2 thoughts on “At last a post about raw food…..

  1. I love the sound of the muesli/crumble topping – the kids might eat it :) But I have a couple of questions: what are oat grouts? And in Ireland consumers have been advised not to eat raw mushrooms (in case they have salmonella apparently) and I wonder what your views are on that?

  2. Hi honey, in answer to your questions…..

    Firstly, oat grouts are the oats after the outer husk has been removed and before they are processed any further – into rolled oats or oat flour say. They are quite hard and so when used raw they add a crunchy/chewy texture. You can find them in most health food shops.

    As for mushrooms and salmonella, from what I can see on google I think the advice given in Ireland stems from a case in 2001 and a subsequent report in 2003 advising to peel, wash and cook mushrooms.

    My thoughts on it – well you can pretty much get salmonella on most things – remember Alison got it just from gardening so I guess washing hands and raw fruits/veggie is important and not eating stuff that has been sat out etc. That said, when I was growing my own fruit and veg I often would just eat straight from the garden without washing stuff first and also an old client of mine who is a doctor would do the same. Good old common sense prevails I think. The only time I had food poisoning was when we were in Goa and I had some noodles from a beach bar. I knew I was taking a risk but I ate them anyway (they were delicious) but I was really ill for about 3 days after and then it took a few weeks to stop feeling sick every time I ate something, but, if I’d listened to my common sense/intuition I wouldn’t have eaten them in the first place.

    I eat raw foods all the time and I have never been healthier so………???

Leave a Reply

