Hello world…..

Its been two months since we arrived back in Portugal and it has been a funny old time since we have been back.

Many years ago hubby and I decided that we wouldn’t return to the same place twice and yet this is exactly what we have done in coming back here and indeed what we did last winter with going back to Iznate.

Being back in Portugal in the same place has had a strange feel to it this time around. I can’t say as I have really settled in back here and to be honest I am looking forward to getting going. Which is exactly what we are going to be doing in a few weeks time.

When we left the UK back in October 2010 we had a grand idea of traveling and exploring and for me to pick up work teaching yoga as we went.

Other than that sketchy overview we really hadn’t put too much more thought into it as we rushed around like headless chickens trying to organise everything.

But of course things haven’t really gone to plan in the ‘traveling’ department and you can’t really say that we have been traveling for the last 21 months. Instead we have gone from one place to another and then stayed there for 6 months!!

Not that we haven’t been having fun whilst doing it. I love, love, love caravan living and the simplicity my life has now. I wouldn’t swap it for the world but we both realised we needed to find a way to make our choice more sustainable.

Last winter in Spain I was lucky enough through networking to meet a fantastic group of women who I could work with and create a vision for sharing good health through my passions for raw food, yoga and barefoot running.

As well as getting back into teaching (yoga) I dipped a toe into the retreat world and hosted a weekend raw food, yoga and EFT retreat in April.

When we go back to Spain we will be going back to the finca that we ran these retreats out of and working more closely with them to get regular retreats, bootcamps and classes of the ground.

It is something that I have wanted to do for a while and at this point in our lives it seems like the best solution all around. As you know we have two cats with us one of which is elderly and battling chronic kidney disease and although this decision hasn’t been made entirely around him, it would be cruel of us to drag him from place to place when he needs quiet and calm in which to live out his final days.

I have been umming and erring over what to do with this blog. It stopped feeling like my ‘European Journey’ some time ago and with two other blogs on the go (one for my business and one for my marathon challenge) I find it difficult both squeeze the time in to write it and also to find something to write about!

So, for now I am going to bow out of writing here and thank those of you who have been following over the last few years.

I am sure it will pop up again in the future as travel is something we still want to do.

If you want to keep up with me in other ways then you can follow my blog on my website www.barefootandraw.co.uk or follow my ultra marathon challenge 2013 here.

Thanks again,

Helen x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hello world…..

Leave a Reply

