Friday – Night’s out, Boots and Moral Dilemma’s

Such is the life of a raw vegan……… I have a dilemma. It has always been there in the back of my head but when I was a vegetarian it was easier to not ignore it exactly but just easier to not think about it I guess. My dilemma is the wearing of animal products. Now most people would just assume that this was confined to the wearing of leather shoes and clothes but it reaches further than that. The glues that are used in the making of shoes/boots/trainers are made from animal products and so even when you think you are doing well by purchasing synthetic footware – chances are you aren’t. Like I said back in the day when I was just a plain old vegetarian I could almost justify not thinking too hard about it but now I am a raw vegan – well its that word vegan isn’t it. It somehow makes you feel like you should step it all up a level. Add to that the fact that there are now companies out there that actually make vegan shoes that you would want to wear and wont make you look like you just stepped off the arc – if you get my drift – then it makes it very difficult to ignore the fact that you have to choose between strapping a dead animal to your foot – or not.

My solution around said footware problem is that I now only buy new shoes from fashionable vegan footware companies – Bourgouis Boheme being one of my favourites. I figure that to throw all my shoes and boots – of which there seems to be a frightening amount away and replace them all at once would be not only very expensive but would also be a waste and I’m all for getting the most out of things that I buy.

So, my conscience appeased – somewhat – I went and had a rummage through my wardrobe to find a pair of boots suitable for a night out with the girls. The one’s I came out with were actually given to me by my sister in law who couldn’t walk in them! so in effect I am recyling them on someone else’s behalf which seems quite ethical to me – an otherwise brand new pair of boots saved from a premature end on the rubbish heap……emmmm that’s something I can raise a drink to tonight – but only if the wine is vegan………or no another dilemma……….

Today’s food will be:-

Green smoothie – oranges, grapefruit, spinach, celery and banana.

Orange, banana and grapefruit smoothie.

Lettuce wraps with grated sweet potatoes, carrots, avocado and raisins.

Tomato salad with red onions and olives

1/2 pineapple with choccy sauce – raw cacao butter, powder and agave.

Lots of warm water, teas and hot lemon and possibly wine.

Exercise today will be:-

Ab workout

30 minute ashtanga yoga practice – depending on how my hamstring feels.

Thanks for reading………..

Leave a Reply

