Saturday – preparing to go cold turkey

I am a self confessed chocoholic. There I said it. Of course I console myself with the fact that it runs in the family – mum and two sisters are also terminal cases,  sorry girls but the truth hurts –  I am sure mum weaned us on the stuff, or is that just wishful thinking????? Anyways, I digress. Since being on the raw food diet I have substituted my usual chocolate fix with raw cacao products and continued to enjoy my daily treat. Lately though I have been thinking that my choccy habit is getting out of control and running into the territory of an addiction….. More often than not my chocolate fix is turning into a full blown meal and usually the last of the day, which is not a good time to be eating raw cacao. It is stronger than its milder more heavily processed cousin – cocoa – and as such can be very stimulating. There have been times when I have been unable to sleep because of the pounding in my chest brought on by eating too much of the stuff. The other thing you need to know about me is that I like my sleep and anything that interrupts me falling into a coma as soon as my head touches the pillow is a definate no no in my book – even chocolate.

So, I am taking the slightly drastic decision to ditch the cacao for the foreseeable future. I have a small amount left that will be finished today – can’t bring myself to throw it away and for this to work there needs to be no trace of it in the house. It will be tough I have no doubt as I have probably eaten chocolate everyday for most of my adult life – a scary thought. My hubby may well want to divorce me as I go cold turkey – or at the very least spent a lot of time away from me!!!! but think of the money I will save. Enough to buy some new clothes – ohhhhh theres a thought – or is that another addiction I need to deal with……….

Todays food has been:-

Orange, grapefruit, celery, spinach and banana smoothie – am really going to have to think of a name for this as I drink so much of it.

Salad – lettuce, sprouts, cucumber, tomatoes, avocado, beetroot, pepper and olives

Tomato bruschetta on raw tomato bread

Raw chocolate cheesecake.

Exercise today has been:-

60 min self practice ashtanga yoga

lots of housework – arrrrrgggghhhhh

Thanks for reading…….

2 thoughts on “Saturday – preparing to go cold turkey

  1. Are you sure you are not taking things too far by giving up chocolate? I find the idea a bit scary, but am wishing you the best of luck. Anyway here’s some mad ideas for naming the breakfast smoothie:

    Helen’s Hoosh

    Raw eyeopener

    Green Goddess

    A Scoganana

    • I know, giving up chocolate does seem to be quite drastic especially for someone like me but…….. I’m going to give it a go. Thanks for the suggestions for naming the green juice – ‘the green goddess’ is my favourite so maybe that will be its name from now on. Hope all good with you.xx

Leave a Reply

