Friday – Helen goes shopping……

This post is only going to make sense to you if you are above a ‘certain’ age and can remember the Ladybird books ‘Janet and John’ of the 60’s and 70’s.

Today I felt like Janet from said books. Why?? you cry (well if I listen closely enough I can just about hear someone faning an slight interest!!) No, seriously, the reason I feel like a character out of a book from my childhood is that I am experiencing something of a rebellion against supermarkets. I know they are convenient and I know they sell a wide range of products that it seems impossible to get elsewhere, but my patience is wearing a little thing with them.

I pretty much buy the same thing every week which I’m sure most people do but every week it seems my bill is getting more and more. On comparing old bills (I am self employed and keep everything for tax purposes) it would seem I am right and prices are on an ever climbing rise. Also I’m fed up of special offers – especially on fruit and veggies because it normally means that said items will rot in your bag before you get them home!! and it’s just mind numbingly boring wandering around these huge spaces, it’s like they suck the energy out of you as soon as you walk in and then I end up buying more than I need in the vain hope that I won’t have to come as often.

Well, I am not playing anymore. I have thrown my toys out of the pram and am taking action. From now on I am going to try and do as much of my shopping on my local high street instead of at my usual supermarket. I am lucky in that I live a few miles outside a very traditional market town which still has a good variety of shops – butchers, bakers, health food shop, deli, discount store – there is quite a selection. No greengrocer though which is a shame, however I get most of my veggies from an organic home delivery service so aside from a few things that I can’t get anywhere else my expenditure at the supermarket should be significantly reduced.

So, where’s the link with Janet and John then? – well pottering around town this afternoon popping in and out of different shops with my little shopping list just reminded me of the story about them doing the same. They went to the ironmongers and the bakers and the haberdashiery shop (we actually still have one of those in town!!) and the butchers and I guess that’s the way shopping was done back in those days. I actually found the whole process a lot less stressful than doing it in one place – strange I know – and I didn’t spend as much as I would normally as I had my list and wasn’t bored because I was in town and so was a lot more focussed on what I really needed. Don’t know if I will feel the same in a few weeks time but I’m willing to continue this way of shopping rather than keep filling the pockets of the supermarkets who seem to be getting greedier by the week.

Today’s food has been:-

Usual green smoothie

Orange, grapefruit and banana smoothie

Apple

Mandarin

Large salad with toms, cucumber, red onion, carrot, sweet potato, avocado and seeds

Medium sized pot of olives stuffed with sun dried tomatoes – from the deli and absolutely delicious!!

Half pineapple and 3 kiwi fruits

Exercise Today has been :-

90 min ashtanga yoga practice

No chocolate today has been:-

Ok – I had my olives instead.

Thanks for reading………

Leave a Reply

