Monday – Day 1

Today is day 1 of my 30 day fitness challenge. Whoo hoo….am really excited about getting my booty into some serious shape that I am already thinking about extending it to 60 days. I may feel differently tomorrow though!!

I have an easy day work wise with some clients later in the day so it was a good day to begin. I managed to get my workouts in before midday and am sitting here eating my lunch as I write up today’s blog entry.

Exercise today has been:-

2 workout as follows

1. 20 minutes on treadmill – 5 minutes warmup at a fast walking pace and then I just did random run/walk intervals. I will be more structured with the intervals (i.e. speed and length) in a few days but today I just wanted to get back into running mode again.

Interval workout *– 30 secs work followed by 10 secs rest (took about 25 minutes)

  1. Squat and shouder press left arm
  2. Squat and shoulder press right arm
  3. Wide leg burpee
  4. One leg bridge lift – left leg
  5. One leg bridge lift – right leg
  6. Press ups
  7. One leg sit and lift – left leg
  8. One leg sit and lift – right leg
  9. Plank

Complete 3 sets

Stretches

2. Ashtanga yoga practice – to end of standing and some hip openers – 25 minutes

Food today has been:-

Handful of medjool dates after each workout

Green smoothie – oranges, grapefruit, celery, spinach and banana

2 raw chocolate cupcakes

1 large salad with lettuce, cucumber, red onion, tomatoes, black olives and salmon

Mushroom and avocado pate in lettuce wraps with tomatoes and olives

1/2 pineapple and some kiwis

How I feel today:-

My legs felt like jelly after the interval training – lol, but it was a good feeling in a macabre kind of way. It was a different sort of ‘tiredness’ to how I feel after doing a 90 minute yoga workout and I could definately feel that I had worked my larger muscle groups (quads and hamstrings) in my legs in a more intense way. I’m looking forward to day 2!!

Thanks for reading……..

*I took the interval training from Zuzanna’s ‘Bodyrock TV’ site – http://www.bodyrock.tv

2 thoughts on “Monday – Day 1

  1. Sounds like a great start, Helen! With school starting today I was hoping to get my (rather less ambitious) fitness programme going, but my body objected painfully when I tried to run this morning – looks like I’m gonna need more physio before I get going. But I have been trying to find interesting ways to eat avocados for the past two days – surely your blog could host the odd recipe?

    • You take it easy with that back, the running can wait! maybe just some power walking for now will be more than enough and keep you ticking over??

      The mushroom and avocado pate that I am making for tea will be a new recipe – well it will be when I make it up – he he – so if it is successful I will post it on The Fit Option website tomorrow……

Leave a Reply

