Weekend – monday and vomit tasting cookies…….

A busy weekend of housework and gardening saw me making a big pineapple, orange, coconut water and banana smoothie to kick start my saturday and give me the required push to attack the house and garden with gusto. Once I’d juiced the oranges and pineapple I had a brainwave as to what to do with all the left over pulp. I decided to make some raw cookies and use the pulp to make them ‘fruity’.

So, I mixed ground sunflower, pumpkin and flaxseed with dried coconut, dates and raw honey. I then added the pulp and mixed that in too. So far so good. I made them into cookie shapes and placed them on the dehydrator tray ready for it to do its magic. Then we hit the garden. Several hours later we came in to have a cup of tea and try the cookies. They looked good and they smelt good but OMG when we tried them they tasted like – and there is no any other way of describing them here – but they tasted just like vomit. Not good. Needless to say they went in the bin.

Usually my raw food experimentation goes ok and although I have had a few minor ‘blips’ along the way this is the first major disaster to befall my raw food kitchen over the last three years. It was something of a shock I can say but I made sure I got straight back into the kitchen the following day and knocked up some vanilla cupcakes – pecans, dates, coconut and vanilla. I made a dozen cupcakes and I am very pleased to report that less than 24 hours later there are none left………phew normal service resumes……………….

Leave a Reply

