Saturday – Time please folks……..

‘Time please’ is a well known cry in pubs all across the UK. Time to sup up the last of your ale, down your wine or glug back that G&T before the doors open onto the night and the lights go out on the bar.

Alcohol has been a constant feature for much of my adult life – who am I kidding here – all of my adult life. When I think back over the years alcohol in some form or another is always there.

When I first started work my tipple of choice was vodka and blackcurrant, until I was violently ill on it in the Rock Garden club in Covent Garden. Then I switched my allegance to vodka and orange until the same thing happened with that!! – although not at the same place. In my early twenties pints of beer were my preferred drink –  very feminine!! and then I discovered wine. Red wine was my favourite to start with but over the years that has switched to white and back to red and back to white again depending on what my latest hangover was caused by.

Living in France was probably the pinnacle of my drinking career – it was incredibly cheap and not altogether bad and so we drank more than our weight in wine it seemed. When we returned to the UK our drinking slowed down a lot and over the last few years I have moderated my tastes considerably and no longer drink spirits, beer or much wine preferring instead the delights of champagne of which I am lucky enough to have drunk some very good bottles  – Dom Perignan and Krug being the highlights.

This week I went away with my friend for a few days of R & R. These days away are an annual event and usually involve alot of eating, drinking, shopping and gossiping. This year was no exception. We ate – me raw and we drank and I suffered like I haven’t suffered before. I spent an extremely restless night (after sharing a bottle of wine and drinking a white wine spritzer) waking up every hour absolutely gasping for water. I drunk over 2 litres throughout the night and when daylight finally came I was still thirsty, very tired and feeling like ***p……

It was the final straw for me. How can I eat such a good diet and then go and ruin it all by drinking something that affects my body in such a dramatic way. It took three days to finally feel well again. That is no fun and to be honest the wine wasn’t that good.

So, for me its very definately ‘time please’. I’m done with the booze. I reackon I have had about 25 years of drinking the stuff but the relationship has run its course. I choosing to step out with my new non alcoholic friends (also known as water and juice) nowadays……I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “Saturday – Time please folks……..

  1. I still like a regular glass of wine – or polish beer (my brother’s fault!), but I gave up the ciggies a few years ago in the same way. I woke up after smoking five during an evening with friends and felt so awful that I gave them up on the spot. Best of luck with this, but if you are okay with it, I think your friends will be as well. I think the pressure once you’re over 40 is to be sober, and drinking is becoming the new smoking.

Leave a Reply

