Green juices

Most of you know how much I love my green juices, well for the last few weeks I have been berefit of them in the mornings. Back in June my main L’Equip juicer blew up on me after only 6 months of use. So I then had to resort to my back up juicer that doesn’t work nearly as well whilst we sorted the warranty details out and arranged to get the L’Equip repaired or replaced. My backup juicer then broke on me as well and so for the last few weeks I haven’t been having any juices at all……I miss them.

Well the good news is that after some discussion with the manufacturer over who should pay the courier fees of returning the juicer for repair – err that wont be me then!! the juicer was collected last week and we received a phonecall on monday to say that a new juicer would be dispatched that day. It was and I am very happy to say that it a brand new shiny (grey!) juicer arrived yesterday and so this mornings menu will consist of juice, juice and more juice. Woo hoo……..

Just as well as I have lots of spinach ready for picking in the garden

Everything in the garden seems to be doing really well, we have had plenty of cucumbers, spinach and red onions. The courgettes are finally beginning to flourish after a slow start – although even with fencing around them something is managing to get in for a nibble – I suspect a little mouse or maybe the mole who is merrily digging holes on the lawn as if he is auditioning for the ‘Great Escape’. The tomatoes have benefitted from the few weeks of sunshine and we have plenty of green and pale red tomatoes that will hopefully will ripen up even in the overcast weather we are now having. Look at one of the tomato plants below – is this possibly the smallest tomato plant you have ever seen?? he he

I didn’t even get to sample the tomato as something got to it before me!! Other successes in the garden this year have been the raspberries although I have been fighting the wasps over them for the last few weeks. I had a good crop of them initially though and they were gorgeous. The hedgerows around us and some in our garden are now weighed down by ripening blackberries. They seem to be a bit early this year – due to the hotter weather I suspect so I plan to start picking and freezing soon so we have plenty in the freezer for the winter. Potatoes should be ready to be pulled soon and we have plenty of herbs dotted around the garden so all in all a good year for our veggie gardens!!

Leave a Reply

