Less is More

Moving abroad in a caravan is certainly an exciting thing to be doing – quite romantic really if you think about it, or is that just me!!- and its definately the realisation of a  long held dream for both of us. But, for me it is also an experiment. An experiment about letting go of material possessions, of space and of the feeling that both of those things are what I need to live a fulfilling life.

To say that I have a lot of stuff is an understatement – confirmed by the many weeks spent sorting through it all. To say that I have a lot of stuff that I never use is also very true, but like many of us I have fallen into the trap of thinking that I still need those belongings.

We come into this world with nothing but the bodies we inhabit and we leave the same way, but when we leave someone else has to step into the space that we lived in and sort through all the stuff that we left. It’s no longer any use to us and probably not much use to those we leave it to either as they already have all they need themselves.

Now I’m not saying that we should go through our lives with nothing – obviously we need clothes on our backs and a roof over our heads to protect us from the elements if nothing else, and then we need a bed to sleep in and pots and plates to eat off and the list goes on. But my point is that we really don’t need as much of that stuff as we think we do and it is that thought that I am enjoying playing around with at the moment.

Just how much do I actually need. Do I really need 8 differents scarves and an assortment of hats when one will clearly suffice. Do I really need different plates to eat off when most of my food can be eaten from my hands – raw food is very versatile like that.

Having limited space to accommodate our possessions is making me think of these things in a very realistic way. Its making me acknowledge the fact that I can actually live a very simple live and hopefully feel very fulfilled doing it.

I hope that our transition to living with minimal possessions will be a smooth one, but I’m not niave enough to think that it wont be without its ups and downs. I’ll let you know about them as they happen as I want to be real about this. I’m hoping that I can live without all the entrapments that I have collected along the way but I may surprise myself and find that actually I am the kinda of girl who does need 8 scarves and 20 bikinis’…………..I’ll let you know……..

 

Leave a Reply

