Food for thought…..

As you all know I am a big fan of raw food – I mean that is what I set this blog up for, to document my journey with raw foods. Several people have emailed me this week asking me for advice on going raw and where to find information about it.

When I first went raw I didn’t know anyone personally that ate in this way and so I looked to the internet for information and advice, and then got very confused. Everyone seemed to be saying something different and they all seemed to disagree with each other. Some ate just fruits and swore off nuts and fats, some disagreed with eating lots of fruit and said nuts and fats were where it was at. Some took supplements, some didn’t, some ate raw gourmet, some balked at the mere thought of it. There were and still are some very ‘militant’ raw foodies out there who aggressively defend their way of eating and flat-out crucify anyone who doesn’t agree with them. That I didn’t and still don’t like.

Over the course of time I began to work out that if I was going to have raw foods in my life on a permanent basis then I had to do it my way and stop listening to anyone else. I had to start listening to what my body was telling me about the foods I was putting into it.

And so, over the last 4 years I have learnt so much about the way I like to eat. In no particular order this is what I have discovered so far:-

  • Eating my food raw gives me an energy and buzz that I get from nothing else.
  • I love fruits.
  • I love salt!!
  • Cacao makes my heart race in a not good way.
  • Carob doesn’t make my heart race and tastes just as good as cacao.
  • I LOVE coconut butter – so does one of my cats.
  • Too many nuts give me wind and cramps – sorry if that’s too much information!!
  • Avocados – yum, yum, yum
  • I like gourmet raw food but as much of it is nut based I can’t eat too much without feeling – well see above
  • I enjoy eating very simply.
  • I still enjoy eating light cooked food on occasion anything too heavy is still nice but leaves me feeling bloated, overfull and just plain uncomfortable.

I don’t know what is around the corner with this way of eating. My main priority is having A1 health and so far so good. I will continue to eat this way for as long as I feel the best that I know I can. As soon as that changes I will change the way I eat.

Today I was catching up with a fellow raw foodies blog. She has been a vegetarian for 13 years and a raw foodie for about 4 years and yet health problems have meant she is now eating meat and dairy again. Apparently a lot of long-term raw foodies are now including some animal products back into their diet because of similar health problems. These problems include low thyroid function and adrenal fatigue. My ears pricked up at this as, of course, these are health problems that hubby suffers from too and the reason why he went from being a vegetarian of 15 years to eating meat again. Emmmm…..there is something there for sure and confirms what I have long thought and that is what is right for one person is not necessarily what is right for everyone. I have been a vegetarian for 24 years and don’t suffer any of these problems – we are all different and have different needs so how can one diet fit all????

That is why I would and never will advocate that the raw food diet is something that everyone should be doing. Sure I think everyone will benefit by including more raw food into their diet but perhaps 100% is not for everyone.

So, if I had to give one piece of advice to any raw food newbie out there it would be to take it slowly and to listen to you and your body and not what everyone else tells you should be doing.

Leave a Reply

