Qualified…

So, yesterday was the end of my month long yoga teacher training course. Today I got to have a lie in before attempting to file my tax return online – am still attempting to file it several hours later but the least said about that the better as I may explode and that wouldn’t be very ‘yogi like’ !!!

The course was great and I learned so much in a short space of time. Coming from an Ashtanga yoga background – which is something of a power yoga – it was refreshing for me to learn a completely different style; although it did take some getting used to as the pace is so much slower.  I needed to expand my knowledge though as I knew there was so much more to yoga than what I had been practicing. I remember listening to someone once talking about yoga and saying that if you only ever look at one side of the mountain then that is all you will ever see. It is not until you climb to the top and look at the whole way around that you get the complete picture. That is what I feel I have accomplished with this training.

I now have such a better understanding of the roots and tradition of yoga that I can now see the whole picture. We covered a lot of the philosophy of yoga on this course and I have fallen head over heels in love with theBhagavad Gītā – one of the most important texts in the history of literature and philosophy and sometimes referred to as ‘the manual for mankind’.  Within its pages Lord Krishna states that the knowledge of Yoga contained therein was first instructed to mankind at the very beginning of their existence. Its words are just so meaningful and pertinent now as when they were first spoken.

One of the other great things about this course is that there was only two of us on it and so we both had so much individual attention. For me it was not so important to learn about ‘how’ to teach as I have been doing that for the past 6 years, but to be able to perform and execute the postures correctly and have the knowledge about why we do yoga etc, that was important. When you are in a big group (there were about 30-35 of us on the last training course I went on) then you get lost and the time spent on you and your knowledge is limited but here we had a month of pretty much 1-2-1 attention. We also got to ‘practice’ on some people that Maggie our teacher had invited along, one of whom had never practiced yoga before and one who had a fair amount of health problems and limitations so we really had to think on our feet and get a taste of what a real class with different abilities would be like.

I am so glad that I got to take this course here in the mountains of Southern Spain. The location was just perfect and for most of the course the weather was so good that we were outside the whole time practicing in the sunshine which just added a whole other dimension to the experience. At the moment the almond trees are coming into blossom and the valleys here are fragrant with their smell. It is quite intoxicating and a beautiful sight to see all the mountainsides dotted with pink and white flowers.

So, I am feeling pretty grateful to the universe for bringing me here and allowing me this wonderful experience and I am very excited about the next step as we start to plan our ‘Yoga and Raw Food retreats’ and where we are going next!!! It’s time to be thinking about moving on to somewhere else and experiencing more of what this journey has to offer us.

In the meantime here are some photo’s that I took on the last day of the course. The weather wasn’t so good so you will have to imagine the scene bathed in sunshine but it gives a good idea of what I have been up to for the last month.

 

Views and almond blossom

More views

The terrace where we did most of our practices and a lot of our studies

The ‘caravan’ where we studied when it was too cold to sit outside

Me receiving my certificate

Maria receiving her certificate

 

Namaste…..

7 thoughts on “Qualified…

  1. Wonderful news Helen…well done! YOGA – great isn’t it xxx (I don’t mean the asanas…they are just the start!). Are you planning to be back at all in July? Wonderful opportunity for weekend with Swami Veda, will forward you the details but probably the most fantastic yoga opportunity to come to Britain ever and I know you would love it…perhaps worth a trip home? x

    • Well its thanks to you that I was on this course as you were the one who gave me the info!!

      Am loving the journey as it unfolds and just marveling that it all happens in its own good time. Five years ago I wouldn’t have been ready for it but now it all seems so right and naturally falling into place.

      Defo send me the info for the weekend with Swami Veda, and I’ll see what I can manifest!

      love H xx

      • Hi Helen

        Have sent you an email about the Swami Veda workshop..I am hoping some of my students will attend so I expect there to be some familiar faces to you..hope you can join us x

  2. Oh, well done Helen! I’m thrilled that you sound so happy and sure this was the right thing for you at this time in your life. Generally, it all works out in the end!! Miss you, but can’t wait for the ‘Yoga and Raw Food Retreat’ – I should be enough of a challenge for your new found yoga teaching skills!! Love Ann x

    • Ah thanks Ann, all the turmoil of packing up and leaving the UK certainly feels a lifetime ago now!! and definitely worth it.

      Miss you guys too but it would be great to see you on one of the retreats. How’s everything going your end – email me soon, love H xxx

  3. Hi Helen

    Just needed to ask your advice I have decided I want to ‘do’ Yoga, but not sure where to start. What do you suggest. I have a couple of books – one by Godfrey devereux, 15 minute yoga. Do you think that’s possible. I am still trying to read the intro! I want to join a class aswell, but want to go during the day – morning would be best.

    Also as I am volunteering for the RSPCA ( cattery) 2 days a week I love hearing about the cats too!

    Anyway I love your blogs

    Michelle

    • Hi Michelle,

      Great that you want to try yoga. I would suggest definitely getting to a class before you try from a book. I’m sure there are plenty going on in Norwich. Unfortunately all the yoga teachers that I know off are in the Bury St Edmunds or Ipswich area so can’t help with any recommendations for Norwich. When I first started out I tried several different classes to see which styles I preferred and what teachers seemed good to me so shop around a bit and try different places until you settle on something that you like.

      Good luck with it, let me know how you get on.

      Glad you like the blogs and hearing about the cats!! they are all curled up on the bed with me at the moment waiting for the sun to come up so they can go out.

      Helen x

Leave a Reply

