8 months in…

The picture above was taken last October on route down to Spain. I think we were in Narbonne and it was early in the morning before we set of for another day of driving.

I was tired and stressed from the previous two months but also exited to be on the adventure that we had talked about for so long.

Eight months is a long time to be away from family and tomorrow I am heading back to the UK for 10 days to visit mine.

I think it is safe to say that I am returning home a different person. Gone it the stress and tiredness not to mention a stone in weight (thanks to a raw food diet). I am happier than I have ever been, living in my little caravan with my man and my fur babies. I love that my life is so simple now and I get to appreciate how great it can be when you let go of things that you don’t really need.

Of course that doesn’t mean my family and friends who I miss and can’t wait to see but it does mean all the things that I used to fill my time with that I thought were sooo important.

I’ve learned that I don’t need a big house filled with fancy stuff. I don’t need a wardrobe full of clothes and racks of shoes and boots. I don’t need my endless supply of fashion and gossip magazines to keep me updated with ‘celeb world’ – who cares what they are doing when there is so much to explore here. In fact I’ve learned that I don’t need very much at all. That everything I need is exactly what I have right here and right now.

So, yes I can’t wait to get to Stansted tomorrow and see my big brother and my little sis (who hopefully will be there to meet me!!) but I am also looking forward to coming back to my little oasis that goes wherever we take it as well.

 

4 thoughts on “8 months in…

  1. Helen it is clear how much everything has changed for you..very inspirational..you of course look fantastic but it is so exciting to read how much happier and healthier you feel and obviously are!! Life is good here, we are selling up and moving to Norfolk. downsizing. living closer to Paul’s work and hopefully working towards a simpler life xx

  2. Thanks honey and how exciting to hear about your plans. I will have to email you to find out more but I can highly recommend the ‘simpler life’ so wishing you loads of success with your move. xxx

    • @Bluesky – not sure I’d call myself an inspiration, but coming from someone who I admire so much for her grace and determination in dealing with the things in her life that is praise indeed so thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

